216 North Main Street
The Old Quad boasts four of the campus' oldest buildings, including Oak Row and Elm Row--the original dormitories of Davidson--and Eumenean ("Eu") and Philanthropic ("Phi") Halls. The Philanthropic Society still meets in the upstairs rooms. The building has classroom space on the bottom floor and the original ceremonial meeting room on the second.
Philanthropic Hall was built in 1850, and restored in 1956 through the generosity of Mrs. Clarence Hodson. It was placed on the National Historic Register in 1972. It is named for the Philanthropic Literary Society, formed in 1837. Together with the Eumenean Hall the buildings housed the first student organizations at Davidson College and their respective libraries.
Phi Hall is located in the "Old Quad", along Main Street between Davidson College Presbyterian Church and Cunningham Fine Arts Building. Facing Eu Hall, Phi Hall is closer to Chambers Building (Eu is closer to Main Street). Parking is available along Main Street or in the Visual Arts Center lot off of Jackson Street.